5th Announcement of Opportunity for Science Planners
in the NASA-led IRIS mission


The outcome of this Announcement of Opportunity was that the following scientists (listed in alphabetical order) were appointed as science planners:
Souvik Bose, University of Oslo, Norway
João Manuel da Silva Santos, Institute for Solar Physics, Stockholm University, Sweden
Carolina Robustini, Stockholm University, Sweden

15 April 2019

This 5th Announcement of Opportunity (AO), open to scientists affiliated with institutes located in ESA Member States, solicits proposals for participation as Science Planners in the NASA-led IRIS mission.

The Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) is a NASA Small Explorer (SMEX) mission, launched in 2013, that allows tracing the flow of solar energy and plasma from the photosphere through the chromosphere and transition region into the corona using spectroscopy and imaging in ultraviolet windows between 130 and 283 nm. IRIS can reveal the dynamics of the chromosphere and transition region, and allow understanding the processes powering them. IRIS is a major leap from previous and existing solar spectrographs (e.g., SOHO/CDS or SUMER; Hinode/EIS) in terms of spatial (0.3-0.4 arcsec), temporal (2 s), and spectral (3 km/s) resolution.

ESA's participation in IRIS is in the form of a Mission of Opportunity, and entails the access of competitively selected scientists based in ESA Member States to the IRIS mission's observations, under the form of Science Planners. A maximum of three scientists will be appointed through the present AO. The appointment period will be for one year.


Proposal Documentation

An invitation from the ESA Director of Science to respond to this Announcement of Opportunity can be found in the right-hand menu.

Full details of the appointment requirements and conditions, the required contents and format of the proposal, and the evaluation criteria are given in the AO document, available to download from the right-hand menu.


Proposal Submission

Proposals in PDF format must be submitted using the submission form linked below, before the deadline of 15 May 2019, 12:00 (noon) CEST.



Proposal Submission Form
The deadline for receipt of proposals was: 15 May 2019, 12:00 (noon) CEST




The schedule for this AO is given in the table below:


Date of AO release 15 April 2019
Due date for proposals 15 May 2019, 12:00 (noon) CEST
Appointment of successful proposers July 2019



Further queries should be addressed to:

Bernhard Fleck
ESA Project Scientist for IRIS
Email: Bernhard.Fleck@esa.int

with copy to:

Arvind Parmar
Head of the Science Support Office
Email: Arvind.Parmar


Luigi Colangeli
Head of the Science Coordination Office
Email: Luigi.Colangeli@esa.int


Last updated: 9 March 2020


To be informed about new Announcements or Calls from the ESA Science Directorate please subscribe to the dsciannounce mailing list.


More about IRIS




Current and Previous Announcements

IRIS AO9 (2023)

IRIS AO8 (2022)

IRIS AO7 (2021)

IRIS AO6 (2020)

IRIS AO5 (2019)

IRIS AO4 (2018)

IRIS AO3 (2017)

IRIS AO2 (2016)

IRIS AO1 (2015)