Latest news:

12 December 2017 - Additional information: the workshop will take place in the Einstein conference room of ESTEC. Once at the reception, follow the signs "JWST workshop".

04 December 2017 - The program of the workshop can be downloaded here. Please remember that access to the workshop venue within the ESA ESTEC is only possible for registered attendants.

Scope of the workshop:

This 2.5 day workshop will include a mixture of presentations about:

- the promise of JWST for solar system science,

- specifics on observer planning tools and observatory capabilities,

- hands-on training and Q&A with the planning tools.

Observations of solar system targets approved for guaranteed-time observers (GTOs) and through the Early Release Science (ERS) program will be summarized. The workshop is timed to support JWST Cycle 1 General Observations (GO) proposals, which are due in April 2018.

- Release of Call for Cycle 1 GO proposals: November 30, 2017 (see here)

- Cycle 1 GO proposal deadline: April 6, 2018 (updated 30 November 2018)

There will be no registration fee   -   Attendance is limited to 60 people

Registration deadline: December 10, 2017

Abstract deadline: December 10, 2017

Attendees are welcome to present posters - please submit an abstract

All participants must register in order to be able to access the premises




Dominique BOCKELEE MORVAN   -   LESIA, France   -   Comets

Leigh FLETCHER   -   University of Leicester, UK   -   Giant planets

Sonia FORNASIER   -   LESIA, France   -   Asteroids, Trojans, TNOs

Bruno SICARDY   -   LESIA, France   -   Rings

Giovanni STRAZZULLA   -   INAF, Italy   -   Laboratory experiments

Nicholas TEANBY   -   University of Bristol, UK   -   Titan

Gabriel TOBIE   -   LPG Nantes, France   -   Icy satellites


Science organizing committee


Nancy CHANOVER   -   New Mexico State University, USA

Pierre FERRUIT   -   ESA/ESTEC, Netherlands


Emmanuel LELLOUCH   -   LESIA, France

Stefanie MILAM   -   Goddard Space Flight Center, USA

Migo MUELLER   -   SRON, Netherlands

Sébastien RODRIGUEZ   -   CEA, France

Mark SHOWALTER   -   SETI Institute, USA

John STANSBERRY   -   Space Telescope Science Institute, USA