Call for Membership in the
Venus Science Coordination group (VeSCoor)


The outcome of this Call was that the following scientists (listed in alphabetical order) were appointed as Members of the Venus Science Coordination Group:

Giulia Alemanno Institute of Planetary Research (DLR), Germany
Yoshifumi Futaana Swedish Institute of Space Physics, Sweden
James Holmes School of Physical Sciences, The Open University, UK
Arianna Piccialli Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy (BIRA-IASB), Belgium
Lucia Marinangeli (co-Chair)* Universita G. d'Annunzio, Italy
Iván López Ruiz-Labranderas Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain

* VeSCoor will have two co-Chairs, one appointed by ESA and one appointed by NASA.
The scientists selected by NASA as VeSCoor members are list here.

20 July 2022

A new era of Venus science investigation has commenced thanks to the selection of three complementary Venus missions (ESA's Medium-class mission EnVision and NASA's two Discovery missions, VERITAS and DAVINCI). With these missions planned to visit Venus in the next 10-15 years, ESA and NASA deemed it timely to establish a Venus Science Coordination group (VeSCoor).

VeSCoor is a Venus missions forum for dialogue within the broader Venus scientific community, in support of the upcoming ESA and NASA missions to Venus. VeSCoor's primary goal is to identify new, unanticipated scientific approaches and outcomes based on synergies among the missions to Venus and suggest studies to enhance overall scientific return. VeSCoor will not evaluate or propose changes to the current mission profiles, scientific objectives, or requirements.

Through the present Call, the ESA Director of Science invites scientists affiliated with institutes in the ESA Member States to apply for membership of the VeSCoor group. Through a parallel call, NASA's Planetary Science Division invites US membership nominations in the VeSCoor group. Successful candidates will be appointed ad personam by the Science Directors of the two Agencies. Applications from groups or teams will not be considered in the selection process.

One co-chair and up to five members will be selected through the present Call. The VeSCoor co-chair and members will be appointed for a period of two years, renewable.

Early career scientists are specifically encouraged to apply.

For full details of this Call can be found in the Call for Membership in the Venus Science Coordination group document. Note that the Terms of Reference of VeSCoor are provided as a separate document.

Application Submission

Applications, in PDF format, must be submitted using the submission form linked below, before the deadline of 30 September 2022, 12:00 (noon) CEST.

Application Submission Form
The deadline for receipt of proposals was:
30 September 2022, 12:00 (noon) CEST



Schedule for this call and important dates

Activity Date
Call for members of the Venus Science Coordination group issued 20 July 2022
Deadline for receipt of applications for Venus Science Coordination group membership 30 September 2022, 12:00 (noon) CEST
Members of the Venus Science Coordination group selected 4th Quarter 2022



Requests for further information should be addressed to:

Luigi Colangeli
Programme Advisor
Directorate of Science
European Space Agency


Last updated: 25 April 2023


To be informed about new Announcements or Calls from the ESA Science Directorate please subscribe to the dsciannounce mailing list.