Registration and abstract submission is now open!


As of June 1st, registration and abstract submission for the FAIRPLAY workshop is open! You can register to attend in person or virtually. The abstract submission deadline will close at 12:00 GMT on the 13th of August. Registration will be open until the 14th of September.

The submitted abstract will be reviewed by the SOC (Science Organising Committee).


Science ORGANISING COMMITTEE (incomplete list, will be updated soon)

Sarah Boazman - ESA/ESTEC
Lucie Riu - ESA/ESAC
Christian Schroeder - Stirling University
Baoli Liu - Zhejiang University
Jo Nield - University of Southampton
Jani Radebaugh - Brigham Young University


1st Announcement: FAIRPLAY workshop


The Fluvial Aeolian InteRactions on PLAnetarY surfaces workshop (FAIRPLAY) aims to promote synergy between different scientific communities that are directly or indirectly involved in the research of aeolian-fluvial interactions on planetary surfaces. 

This workshop is organised by the Working group on Aeolian-Fluvial Terrain Interactions (WAFTI), recently established at the European Space Agency (ESA). The workshop will be a hybrid event with space for 100 in-person attendees. Registration and abstract submission will be free of charge.


The workshop focusses on aeolian-fluvial interactions on Earth, Mars and Titan, in the following subject areas:

  • The influence of aeolian transport on fluvial morphodynamics and vice versa
  • Sediment transport, sediment budgets and bedform dynamics
  • Sedimentology 
  • Coupling between atmospheric and surface processes 
  • Remote sensing and in situ measurements 
  • Planetary analogues
  • Implication for past or present habitable environments on other planets
  • The potential for future exploration and investigation of planetary surfaces

We accept research on all spatial and temporal scales.


Date: 1-3 November 2023




Rickbir Bahia – ESA/ESTEC
Eleni Bohacek – ESA/ESTEC
Lisanne Braat – ESA/ESTEC
Lucie Riu – ESA/ESAC
Sarah Boazman – ESA/ESTEC
Colin Wilson – ESA/ESTEC
Elliot Sefton-Nash – ESA/ESTEC