ESA Brainstorming on Astrobiology - Pilot Event 2023 



During October 2023, the inaugural edition of our ESA Brainstorming on Astrobiology took place at the European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC). This hybrid event, over five days, brought together participants from across Europe and facilitated communication among experts from diverse disciplinary backgrounds. To highlight the diversity of topics covered, each day featured a different focus, with a respective keynote speaker. Throughout the week, discussions unfolded on various aspects, including astrobiological processes, exocomets, extrasolar planets, habitability from a galactic perspective but also the importance of public communication. Our pilot event introduced several innovations while building upon existing strengths. These included experimenting with modern unconference approaches, connecting experts from different disciplines within the multifaceted field of astrobiology, fostering engagement between scientists from various ESA Directorates and the community, and enhancing transparency regarding how ESA operates and supports the community. In conclusion, the quantitative and qualitative feedback we collected affirms that it was a successful and well-received experiment, allowing us to draw lessons learnt and continue to improve for future events. 






The keynote speakers' videos will be published on the YouTube channel of ESA Science. 





Hervé Cottin (LISA/UPEC, FR)  
Nicolas Crouzet (Leiden Observatory, NL)  
Daniela Billi (University of Rome Tor Vergata, IT)  
Lucas Bourmancé (Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle, FR)  
Jean Pierre Paul de Vera (German Aerospace Center (DLR), DE)  
Niloofar Feshangsaz (Janssen Biologics, NL)  
Bernard Foing (EuroSpaceHub Academy, LUNEX, Leiden Observatory, NL)  
Wolf Geppert (Stockholm University, SE)   
Adrienne Kish (Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, FR)  
Cara Magnabosco (ETH Zürich, CH)  
Eva Mateo-Marti (Centro de Astrobiologia (CAB) - CSIC/INTA, ES)  
Johan Mazoyer (LESIA / Observatoire de Paris, FR)  
Julie Nekola Nováková (Charles University (Prague, CZ)  
Isabella Pagano (INAF - Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania, IT)  
Iratxe Población (University of the Basque Country, ES)  
Don Pollacco (University of Warwick, UK)  
Sascha Quanz (ETH Zürich, CH)  
Sudeshna Boro Saikia (University of Vienna, AT)  
Ruth-Sophie Taubner (Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, AT)  
Frances Westall (CNRS-Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire, FR)  

Mickael Baqué (German Aerospace Center (DLR), DE)  
Adriana Blachowicz (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, US)  
Sarah Casewell (University of Leicester, UK)  
Charles Cockell (University of Edinburgh, UK)  
Marta Cortesao (German Aerospace Center (DLR), DE)  
Rosa de la Torre Noetzel (Instituto Nacional de Técnica Aeroespacial INTA, ES)  
Dimitra Demertzi (Radboud University, NL)  
Andreas Elsaesser (Freie Universitaet Berlin, DE)  
Ligia Fonseca Coelho (Cornell University, US) 
Taras Gerya (ETH Zürich, CH) - Team Sapphire 
John Lee Grenfell (German Aerospace Center (DLR), DE)  
Nader Haghighipour (University of Hawaii and Planetary Science Institute, US)  
J G Gokula Krishnan (Anna University, India)  
Jorge Lillo-Box (Centro de Astrobiologia (CAB) - CSIC/INTA, ES)  
Arturo Lira Barria (KU Leuven, BE)  
Zita Martins (Instituto Superior Tecnico, PT)  
Afonso Mota (German Aerospace Center (DLR), DE)  
Hugo Moors (SCK CEN, Belgian Nuclear Research Centre, BE) 
Rosa Santomartino (UK Centre for Astrobiology, University of Edinburgh, UK)  
Gwenael Van Looveren (University of Vienna, AT)  
Vassilissa Vinogradoff (CNRS, Aix-Marseille Université, FR)  



Mariasole Agazzi1 
Nicol Caplin1 
Quentin Changeat3 
Willi Exner1 
Salma Fahmy1 
Maximilian N. Günther1 (Chair) 
Laura Hayes1 
Ana Heras1 
Gaitee Hussain1 
Markus Kissler-Patig2 
Theresa Lüftinger1 
Bruno Merín2 
Daniel Pardekooper1 
Isabel Rebollido Vázquez4 
Emily Rickman3 
Elliot Sefton-Nash1 
Jorge Vago1 
Olivier Witasse1 

1 ESTEC, 2 ESAC, 3 STScI,  4 CAB 


Link to the event privacy notice

Link to the event recording notice

Link to the code of conduct

Link to the WebEx etiquette



Questions about the ESA Exoplanet Team? Please email any of our members and we will be happy to help!
Last updated 1 Feb 2024