NASA Honours Ulysses Mission Team

The long standing efforts and extraordinary achievements of the Ulysses Mission Team were recognised by NASA during the 2009 NASA Honors Award ceremony held at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory on 9th June 2009.

The following awards were conferred to the team and its leaders:

  • Group Achievement Award to the Ulysses Mission Team
    Given in regconition of an outstanding accomplishment that has been made through the coordination of many individual efforts and has contributed significantly to the accomplishment of the NASA mission.
    Accepted on behalf of the entire mission team by Bruce Brymer, JPL Ulysses Ground Systems Manager.
  • Exceptional Public Service Medal to Nigel Angold, ESA Ulysses Mission Operations Manager
    This award is granted for exceptional contributions to the NASA mission.
  • Exceptional Public Service Medal to Richard Marsden, ESA Ulysses Mission Manager and ESA Ulysses Project Scientist (who was unable to attend the ceremony)
  • Outstanding Leadership Medal to Ed Massey, NASA Ulysses Project Manager
    This award is granted for notably outstanding leadership that affects NASA technical or administrative programs.

Please click on a picture below for a version in its original resolution:

group achievement award
L-R: Charles Elachi (Director of JPL), Bruce Brymer, Ed Weiler (NASA Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate)
angold_medal1 angold_medal2
Nigel Angold receiving his medal from Ed Weiler
massey-medal1 massey_medal2
Ed Massey receiving his medal from Ed Weiler
ESA/NASA Ulysses Mission Operations Team at JPL as at June 2009 (L-R):
Nigel Angold (ESA Mission Operations Manager), Khee Chan (ESA Flight Dynamics Engineer and IT Systems Management), Fernando Rebelo de Castro (ESA Spacecraft Operations Manager), Bruce Brymer (JPL Ground Systems Manager), David Hall (ESA Software Support), Gus Macintosh (ESA Spacecraft Analyst), Ed Massey (NASA Project Manager)
All photos by Khee Chan (Starfire Imaging)