Astronomy archives user group (AAUG)

The legacy of ESA’s Astronomy missions is the knowledge base built up in the science community, the papers published in scientific journals and the data stored in ESA’s data archives for Astronomical missions, including the common portal to high-level science-ready data called ESASky. These archives provide the science communities in Europe and worldwide with low-level, calibrated and higher-level data products from ESA’s Astronomy missions. The archives also include the documentation describing the data themselves and the processing that has been performed to generate the products.

For ESA’s Astronomy Missions, the mission archives are the agreed final destination of all science data from the mission (from raw to fully calibrated science-ready data), which, together with the mission documentation stored in Livelink or other documentation systems are kept available in the long-term. The ESAC Science Data Centre (ESDC) is responsible for maintaining the archives accessible in the long term.

In order to better serve the needs of the Astronomical science community, ESA has established an Astronomy Archives User Group (AAUG).


The AAUG is an official body that advises ESA, providing suggestions and recommendations in the following areas:

  • Identify synergies and/or similarities in the recommendations about the future development of the Astronomy archives.
  • Act as an advocate for the ESA Astronomy archives and ESASky.
  • Suggest inclusion in the astronomy archives / ESASky of data not currently served but related to the missions.
  • Advise ESA on the most important functionalities of ESASky and monitor its development to ensure it best meets the needs of the user community.
  • Advise on the main functionalities of a possible future web service linking the Heliophysics, Planetary and Astronomical archives.
  • Participate in the peer review of applications for the Archival Research Visitor Programme.


You are invited to contact the User Group for specific questions or comments you may have.

Natalie Webb (Chair)
Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie (IRAP), Toulouse, France
Member: Oct 2020 - present


Hervé Bouy
Bordeaux University, France
Member: June 2018 - present

Christopher Conselice
University of Manchester, UK
Member: June 2018 - present


Annalisa De Cia
European Southern Observatory, Germany
Member: May 2022 - present

Ioannis Georgantopoulos
National Observatory of Athens, Greece
Member: June 2018 - present


Søren Larsen
Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Member: June 2018 - present

Sandra Savaglio
University of Calabria, Italy
Member: June 2018 - present




Meeting Date Agenda and Presentations Location Minutes and Recommendations
11 19 Feb 2024 Agenda and Presentations ESAC+Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
10 25 April 2023 Agenda and Presentations Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
9 12-13 Sept 2022 Agenda and Presentations Toulouse+Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
8 10 May 2022 Agenda and Presentations Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
7 28 Oct 2021 Agenda and Presentations ESTEC+Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
6 14 Apr 2021 Agenda and Presentations Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
5 1-2 Oct 2020 Agenda and Presentations Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
4 17 Apr 2020 Agenda and Presentations Virtual Minutes and Recommendations
3 14-15 Oct 2019 Agenda and Presentations ESTEC Minutes and Recommendations
2 12-13 Feb 2019 Agenda and Presentations ESTEC Minutes and Recommendations
1 11-12 Jun 2018 Agenda and Presentations ESAC Minutes and Recommendations


Former AAUG Members

  • Marc-Antoine Miville-Deschenes, AIM laboratory, CEA-Saclay, France (June 2018 - Jan 2020)
  • Beate Steltzer, Tübingen University, Germany (Chair: June 2018 - October 2020)
  • Eva Villaver, Centro de Astrobiología (INTA-CSIC), ESAC, Spain (June 2018 - February 2023)

2017 AAUG group Terms of Reference: here