ESASky Credits

ESASky is developed at ESAC, Madrid, Spain, by the ESAC Science Data Centre (ESDC), in particular by the following ESDC team members:

  • Henrik Norman, Mattias Wångblad, Nuria Álvarez-Crespo, Marcos López-Caniego, Debbie Baines (product owner, deborah.baines at, Fabrizio Giordano, Elena Racero, Thomas Fozzi, Elena Puga, Bruno Merín, Jesús Salgado, Raul Gutierrez, Pilar de Teodoro and Maria Henar Sarmiento.

ESASky uses Aladin Lite, a lightweight sky atlas running in the browser, developed by the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS), Strasbourg Observatory, France. It also shows several HiPS mosaics produced by CDS and uses the hipsgen HiPS-generation software  and the SIMBAD TAP service by CDS. We acknowledge the excellent support from CDS and from the expert science and technical staff at ESAC for the creation of this service. In particular we acknowledge the following people:

  • Former ESASky team members: Andy Pollock, Michael RosaIñaki Ortiz de Landaluce, Ignacio Leon, Ricardo Vallés, Javier Castellanos, Sara Alberola and Belén López Martí.
  • CDS: Pierre Fernique, Thomas Boch, Anaïs Oberto and Mark Allen.
  • XMM-Newton Science Operations Centre: Pedro Rodríguez, Nora Loiseau, Maria Santos-Lleo, Matthias Ehle, Norbert Schartel and Elena Jiménez-Bailón.
  • INTEGRAL Science Operations Centre: Guillaume Belanger, Erik Kuulkers and Peter Kretschmar.
  • Planck Science Office: Marcos López-Caniego, Xavier Dupac and Jan Tauber.
  • Herschel Science Centre: Pedro García Lario, Eva Verdugo, Ivan Valtchanov, Miguel Sánchez-Portal, Pilar Esquej and Göran Pilbratt.
  • ESAC Science and Operations IT Unit: Alejandro Lorca, Roberto Prieto and Ruben Álvarez.
  • Centre for Astrobiology (CAB), ESAC: Enrique Solano, Carlos Rodrigo.
  • Euclid Science Centre: Bruno Altieri, John Hoar and René Laureijs.
  • HST: Antonella Nota and Jonas Haase (HST/ESO).
  • JWST: Anthony Marston, Marco Sirianni, Sarah Kendrew, Tim Rawle, Macarena García-Marín and Marcos López-Caniego.
  • Canadian Astronomy Data Centre (CADC):  Daniel Durand, Brian Major, JJ Kavelaars, Patrick Dowler, Séverin Gaudet.
  • Johns Hopkins University: Tamás Budavári.
  • Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech: Krzysztof Górski.
  • ISAS, JAXA: Ken Ebisawa.
  • Chandra, NASA: Pepi Fabbiano, Janet Evans, Raffaele D'Abrusco, Yulie Zografou and Arnold Rots.
  • IMCCE, Paris: Jérôme Berthier and Jonathan Normand (Solar system ephemeris and name resolver).
  • OCA, Nice: Benoit Carry.
  • Smithsonian/NASA ADS: Alberto Accomazzi, Michael J. Kurtz, Sergi Blanco-Cuaresma.
  • ESO: Alberto Micol, Felix Stoehr
  • China-VO, CAS: Chenzhou Cui, Shanshan Li, Dongwei Fan, Hanxi Yang.
  • MAST, STScI: Tom Donaldson.
  • Spitzer, IRSA: Steve Groom, Vandana Desai, Harry Teplitz
  • HEASARC: Tess Jaffe
  • ASTRON: Yan Grange, Mattia Mancini, Nico Vermaas

This work also benefited from experience gained from projects supported by the ESA SCI-OO and SCI-OP research funding.


If you have used ESASky for your research, please use the following acknowledgement:

This research has made use of ESASky, developed by the ESAC Science Data Centre (ESDC) team and maintained alongside other ESA science mission's archives at ESA's European Space Astronomy Centre (ESAC, Madrid, Spain).

We maintain a list of all publications that acknowledge the use of ESASky.