XMM-Newton 2022 Science Workshop


Black Hole accretion under the X-ray microscope

13-17 June 2022

European Space Astronomy Centre (ESAC)
Villafranca del Castillo
Madrid, Spain


Further details will be posted soon.


The meeting will focus on black hole accretion and its consequences, following the accretion flow from the direct relativistic environment of the black holes out to galactic scales. The two flagship X-ray missions XMM-Newton and Chandra are constantly expanding the frontiers of our knowledge. Many further international X-ray observatories, like NuSTAR, NICER, SRG / eROSITA & ART-XC, Swift, MAXI, Integral, HXMT and AstroSAT, are continuously discovering new phenomena. Multi-wavelength observations, complementing the X-ray data, are often crucial to sharpen our view of the accretion phenomenon and its effects on its surroundings. The meeting aims at providing an opportunity to discuss new results, open questions, and pathways for future progress in the field.

Scientific Organising Committee

Stefano Bianchi Università degli Studi Roma Tre, Roma, Italy
Bozena Czerny Center for Theoretical Physics, Warsaw, Poland
Barbara De Marco Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Chris Done Durham University, United Kingdom
Michal Dovciak Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic
Chartas, George College of Charleston, USA
Erin Kara Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA
Stefanie Komossa Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie, Bonn, Germany
Sera Markoff University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Alex Markowitz Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Warsaw, Poland
Andrea Merloni Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik, Garching, Germany
Giovanni Miniutti (chair) Centro de Astrobiología, Villanueva de la Cañada, Spain
Sara Elisa Motta Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera, Merate, Italy
Iossif Papadakis University of Crete, Heraklion, Greece
Christopher Reynolds University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Maria Santos-Lleo European Space Agency, Villanueva de la Cañada, Spain
Norbert Schartel (co-chair) European Space Agency, Villanueva de la Cañada, Spain
Phil Uttley University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Marianne Vestergaard University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Natalie Webb Université de Toulouse, France