First Announcement,     20-Dec-2019     


The X-Ray Universe 2020 / ESLAB

ESTEC, Noordwijk, The Netherlands
25 - 29 May 2020

Organised by the
XMM-Newton Science Operations Centre of the European Space Agency (ESA)


SOC Home Page: https://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/xmm-newton/
Helpdesk web interface: https://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/xmm-newton/xmm-newton-helpdesk
Helpdesk email address: xmmhelp@sciops.esa.int
News Mailing List: https://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/xmm-newton/newsletter



As announced in a previous issue of the XMM-Newton Newsletter, the XMM-Newton Science Operations Centre of the European Space Agency is organising the Science Symposium "The X-ray Universe 2020 / ESLAB", from 25 to 29 May 2020, at the European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC), Noordwijk, The Netherlands.


The symposium is the sixth meeting in the series "The X-ray Universe". The aim of the symposium is to have discussions on a broad range of topics in X-ray astrophysics. The meeting will celebrate the 20th anniversary of the launch of XMM-Newton. There will be a large range of presentations highlighting the outstanding results produced over the past two decades using XMM-Newton. In addition, the excellent results obtained with other currently active X-ray missions will also be presented, as well as the scientific potential of future missions such as, for example, Athena.


  • Stars, White Dwarfs and Solar System
  • Exoplanets and their Host Stars
  • White Dwarf Binaries, Neutron Star and Black Hole Binaries and ULXs
  • Supernovae, SNRs, Isolated Neutron Stars and Diffuse Emission
  • Galaxies and Galactic Surveys
  • Active Galactic Nuclei
  • Groups of Galaxies, Clusters of Galaxies and Superclusters
  • Cosmology and Extragalactic Deep Fields
  • Current and Future Missions

Scientific organising committe

Monique Arnaud CEA, Saclay, France
Aya Bamba University of Tokyo, Japan
Didier Barret IRAP, Toulouse, France
Stefano Bianchi University Roma Tre, Italy
Andrea Comastri INAF-OAS, Bologna, Italy
Anne Decourchelle CEA, Saclay, France
Maria Diaz-Trigo ESO, Garching, Germany
Chris Done University of Durham, United Kingdom
Christine Jones CfA, Cambridge, United States
Ioannis Georgantopoulos National Observatory of Athens, Greece
Richard Griffiths University of Hawaii, United States
Jimmy Irwin University of Alabama, United States
Jelle Kaastra SRON, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Stefanie Komossa MPIfR, Bonn, Germany
Teresa Lago University of Porto, Portugal
Antonio Maggio NAF-OAP, Palermo, Italy
Miguel Mas-Hesse CAB, Madrid, Spain
Richard Mushotzky University of Maryland, United States
Paul Nandra MPE, Garching, Germany
Lida Oskinova University of Potsdam, Germany
Gregor Rauw University of Liege, Belgium
Nanda Rea Institute of Space Sciences, Barcelona, Spain
Kathy Romer University of Sussex, United Kingdom
Craig Sarazin University of Virginia, United States
Manami Sasaki University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Norbert Schartel (co-chair) ESAC, Madrid, Spain
Juergen Schmitt Observatory of Hamburg, Germany
Martin Ward University of Durham, United Kingdom
Michael Watson University of Leicester, United Kingdom
Natalie Webb IRAP, Toulouse, France
Rudy Wijnands (chair) University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Important dates

end January 2020 Opening of Registration and Abstract submission
Monday 2nd March 2020 Deadline for Abstract Submission
Thursday 2nd April 2020 Notification to Authors
Monday 20th April 2020 Early Registration Deadline
Monday 11th May 2020 Registration Deadline

Registration and abstracts

The details about registration, fee and abstract submission will be given in the Second Announcement at the end of January 2020.

Venue and accommodation

The Conference will be held at the European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC), Noordwijk, The Netherlands. We will not block hotel rooms in any particular hotel, but a list of hotels that we used in the past together with useful links will be posted on our webpage.


Local Organising Committee:


Up-to-date information is always available via the Conference webpage