XMM-Newton-NEWS  #262,    1-Feb-2023

XMM-Newton Science Operations Centre at
ESA's European Space Astronomy Centre,
P.O. Box - Apdo. 78, 28691 Villanueva de la Cañada, Madrid, Spain
SOC Home Page: http://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/xmm-newton/
Helpdesk web interface: http://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/xmm-newton/xmm-newton-helpdesk
Helpdesk email address: xmmhelp@sciops.esa.int
News Mailing List: http://www.cosmos.esa.int/web/xmm-newton/newsletter


  • Letter of Intent for Multi-Year Heritage Programmes
  • The X-Ray Universe 2023: List of Speakers


In the next call for XMM-Newton proposals (23rd Announcement of Opportunity) a "Multi-Year Heritage Programme" will be offered for the third time.

This programme seeks scientific visionary projects which require at least 2 Ms of observing time. A total of up to 6 Ms of observing time, spread over three years, can be made available for this programme.

In order to organise the evaluation of "Multi-Year Heritage Programme" proposals, interested scientists are strongly urged to send an e-mail as letter of intent to the XMM-Newton Project Scientist (Norbert.Schartel + esa.int ) before 24 February 2023. The e-mail should contain a draft title, a short (up to three sentences) description of the respective scientific area and an estimate of the required observing time.

The X-Ray Universe 2023: List of Speakers

As recently announced in a dedicated Newsletter, the XMM-Newton Science Operations Centre of the European Space Agency is organizing the next installment of the major astrophysical symposium "The X-ray Universe 2023” from Tuesday 13th to Friday 16th of June 2023. The symposium will be held in Athens, Greece.

The abstract submission is open until 24 February 2023 at this link.


Important dates

Deadline for Abstract Submission Friday 24th February 2023
Communication of the SOC decisions to presenters Mid April 2023
Early Registration Deadline Friday 5th May 2023
Final Annoncement End May 2023



Invited Speakers

Montserrat Armas Padilla Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias, Spain
Esra Bulbul Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik, Germany
Dominique Eckert University of Geneva, Swizerland
Sebastien Guillot Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planetologie, France
Adam Ingram Newcastle University, United Kingdom
Erin Kara Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Giovanni Miniutti Centro de Astrobiologia (CAB), Spain
Yael Naze FNRS Université de Liege, Belgium
Ignazio Pillitteri INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Palermo, Italy
Delphine Porquet CNRS, Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Marseille, France
Nanda Rea Institute of Space Sciences, Spain
Claudio Ricci Universidad Diego Portales, Chile
Manami Sasaki University of Erlangen-Nurnberg, Germany
Beate Stelzer Eberhard-Karls-Universitat Tubingen, Germany
Ming Sun University of Alabama in Huntsville, USA
Affelia Wibisono University College London, United Kingdom


Solicited Speakers

Niel Brandt Pennsylvania State University, USA
Keith Gendreau NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
Matteo Guainazzi European Space Agency, the Netherlands
Giorgio Matt Universita degli Studi Roma Tre, Italy
Gabriele Ponti INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera, Italy
Gabriel Pratt Universite Paris-Saclay, France
Mara Salvato Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik, Germany
Makoto Tashiro Saitama University; ISAS/JAXA, Japan
Natalie Webb Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planetologie, France
Weimin Yuan National Astronomical Observatories, China
Luca Zappacosta INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma, Italy



Local Organising Committee:


Up-to-date information is always available via the Workshop Web page



Yours sincerely,

XMM-Newton SOC