Space Science Faculty

ESA’s Science Directorate houses many scientists supporting the development, operation, and scientific exploitation of ESA’s scientific missions. Many scientists also carry out scientific research that is usually (but not necessarily) related to the specific missions they support.

The Space Science Faculty aims to promote scientific research and an exchange of ideas among its members, and to foster a productive scientific environment. Faculty members are active in a wide range of scientific fields, and maintain collaborations with many individuals and institutes outside ESA.

Faculty members in the SCI directorate are primarily located at ESTEC (in Noordwijk, The Netherlands), ESAC (in Villafranca del Castillo near Madrid, Spain) and the ESA Office at Space Telescope Science Institute (Baltimore, Maryland, USA). The Faculty also welcomes associate members from other ESA directorates, the Spanish Centro de Astrobiología (CAB) co-located at ESAC, and around the globe as long-term collaborators.


Membership Lists


Faculty Member Directory Member Directory Personal Profiles Extended profiles for Faculty Members
Current Research Fellows Research Fellows Faces Faculty Faces (internal access only - log in to view)


For queries about the Space Science Faculty webpages, contact the Faculty Webmaster