European Leadership in Space Astrometry (ELSA)


ELSA was a Marie Curie Research Training Network supported by the European Community's Sixth Framework Programme (FP6). The overall objectives of ELSA were to develop the theoretical understanding and practical analysis tools of importance for the European Space Agency's astrometric mission Gaia and to foster the development of a new generation of researchers in the area of space astrometry. This page lists the 14 institutes that participated in ELSA, and the Scientist In Charge at each of these sites.

Scientists in Charge at participating ELSA institutes
Scientist In Charge Institute Town Country
Prof. Lennart Lindegren Lund Observatory Lund SWEDEN
Prof. Mary Kontizas Department of Astrophysics, Astronomy and Mechanics,
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Dr. Jordi Torra Departament d'Astronomia i Meteorologia, Universitat de Barcelona Barcelona SPAIN
Dr. Dimitri Pourbaix Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Université Libre de Bruxelles Brussels BELGIUM
Dr. Floor van Leeuwen Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge University Cambridge UNITED KINGDOM
Dr. Johan de Vries Dutch Space B.V. Leiden NETHERLANDS
Dr. Laurent Eyer Geneva Observatory and Integral Science Data Centre Geneva SWITZERLAND
Dr. Stefan Jordan Astronomisches Rechen-Institut ARI ZAH Heidelberg GERMANY
Dr. Karri Muinonen Department of Astronomy, University of Helsinki Helsinki FINLAND
Dr. Ronald Drimmel Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (INAF) Torino ITALY
Dr. Anthony Brown Leiden Observatory Leiden NETHERLANDS
Prof. Tomaz Zwitter Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana Ljubljana SLOVENIA
Dr. Albert Bijaoui Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Nice FRANCE
Dr. Catherine Turon Observatoire de Paris (GEPI and IMCCE) Paris-Meudon FRANCE